The Falling Dream

Angel Cloud

It started sometime when I was in my teens, this dream that I was falling.  It was basically the same dream every time.  I don’t know why I started to have this dream or where it came from.

Sometimes there was a cliff that I was falling from, sometimes I was just falling from the sky.

It always ended the same way with me jolting awake, heart beating out of my chest, just before I hit the ground.  So scared it would take awhile to go back to sleep.

When I became an adult and my life was much more complicated, and sometimes frightening, the dream came more often.  I would jerk awake and sit up, covered in sweat, thankful that it was just a dream, or nightmare.

I started to pray about it, asking God to please make it stop.  Each time the dream came it was more frightening that the last time.  Not that anything changed, I just felt a more impending doom.  I prayed, but the dream still came.

In 2000, I was introduced to the Internet, and I joined a chat room.  I met many different people, from every walk of life.   I found a home in a chat room for people who liked to explore new age ideas and spiritual phenomena.    Finally one day I told them about my dream, and one of the people there told me that it was up to ME to make the dream stop.

Me?  How? I asked.  I was told that when the dream came again, to be consciously aware of what was going on, and project my desired outcome.

OK, sounds doable.  I would give that a try.

It was a few weeks before that dream came again.  When it did, somehow I was able to focus on what was going on.  I felt the wind rushing by me as I was falling.  I saw the leaves on the trees as I rushed by.  I noticed the mountains in the distance and the blue sky above me.

I had not thought about what I wanted to happen.  Then, just as I was nearing the ground, I spread out my arms and simply said “Fly” and up I swooped!  Up, into the sky and over the trees!  I flew through the air and felt the currents lifting me higher!

I don’t know if I can find the words to describe how it felt, but I felt like I had been set free.  I felt like I had wings!

I have never had the falling dream again.

Leave a Reply

