Sammie

Sammie was born in 2011.  Sometime before she was a year old, I had her for the weekend.  I was rocking her in the chair, and I whispered in her ear “Grandma loves you Sammie, and I am here to help you, and you are here to help me.”

Jump ahead a couple of years, just after she turned 3 years old in the winter of 2014, I am sitting at my computer and she walks up to me and lays her hand on my arm. I turn to look at her, and she says to me ” You are the best gramma in the whole world! And I am going to help you and you are going to help me!”    I was floored.  Could she have actually remembered that from when she was just a baby?  I think so!

Recently we had a discussion about where she came from:

Grandma:  Sammie, before you came to live with mommy and daddy, where did you live?

Sammie:  in the brown house.

Grandma: Yes I remember that house.  But before the brown house, where did you come from?

Sammie: In the hospital mommy got me, and they wrapped me tight in a blanket and called a baby burrito.

Grandma:  Yes that is right, I remember that day, that was your first day that you came to be with all of us.  But Sammie, where did you come from before that?

Sammie…thinking long and hard…”YOU!”

Can I say my heart melted?  I feel such a special connection to this child.  We connect, and I just know that she was with me in the spiritual realm before either of us was born.  What a blessing to know her in this life!

3 thoughts on “Sammie

    • Thanks Ron, I think its incredible what young children can remember, someone once told me that you have to start asking them questions as soon as they are verbal enough to answer, and that seems to be between 2 1/2 to 3 years old. The brown house that Sammie mentioned was the house they lived in when she was born, but they moved before she even started crawling so it was amazing to me that she remembered it!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Getting Started | mysticheartblog

Leave a Reply

